Crockpot Hearty Beef and Butternut Squash Stew

wpid-20150508_173232_richtonehdr.jpg

I don’t know about you, but I LOVE everything about Fall!  The colors, the smells, wearing comfy sweaters and slippers, anything pumpkin, and stews!  There is something warm and comforting about having a stew slow cooking all day in the crock pot.  The aroma that fills the house is so inviting!  Yes, I am a stay-at-home Momma, but my days are very busy with homeschooling the older three and trying to keep the younger two out of trouble!  I love a quick and easy meal that is complete and healthy for my family!  I know you will love this one too!  Sometimes I add a little cabbage to the stew…it reminds me of the Beef Stew my Grandma and Mom made when I was little.  Of coarse, we always had Grandma’s amazing dumplings too!  Sorry, no dumplings today!

Crockpot Hearty Beef and Butternut Squash Stew serves 6, approximately 1 1/4 cups each

1 1/2 lbs. raw lean beef stew meat, boneless cut into 2 inch cubes

1 medium onion, chopped

1/2 green bell pepper, chopped

1/2 red bell pepper, chopped

4 cloves garlic, crushed

2 medium tomatoes, chopped

1 cup low-sodium organic beef broth

1 bay leaf

1 tsp. sea salt

1 tsp. black pepper

2 cups cubed butternut squash

Add the ingredients to the crockpot in order listed.  To cut the butternut squash easily, I microwave it for about 2 minutes just to get the outside a little bit soften so I can chop it easier. (So I don’t chop off my hand!)  Cook on low for 6-8 hours.

21 day fix:  1 green, 1 red

Leave a Reply

