Homemade Laundry Detergent

wpid-20150903_104431.jpg

I started making out own laundry detergent a few years ago.  It seems like with little ones laundry is a never-ending job and we were going through it like water!  I did some research and came across a few different recipes to make my own.  It is actually very simple and works great!  I have never actually figured out how many loads we get with one batch of homemade detergent, but I do know I am saving money!  I will use either Fels-Naptha bar of soap or Dr. Bonners…it depends on which one is cheaper at the time.

Homemade Laundry Detergent

Washing Soda (Arm & Hammer Brand is available at most stores)

Borox (20 Mule Team Borox is available at most grocery stores)

Bar Soap (Dr. Bonner’s, Fels-Naptha, or Ivory)

I like to add a few Tablespoons of Baking Soda to freshen up the laundry as well.  I also add a few drops of essential oils too.  My favorite brand is Doterra, you can order here.

  1. Grate your bar of soap.  I use a grater, but you can also use a food processor until finely ground.
  2. In a large bowl, mix 2 parts Washing Soda, 2 parts Borox, and 1 part grated soap.  (Now is when I add the Baking Soda and about 10 drops of essential oils.)
  3. Store in an airtight container.  I store mine in a glass jar.
  4. Use 1/8 to 1/4 cup per load of laundry.
Leave a Reply

