21 Day Fix Sausage Gravy

inshot_20160118_102432.jpg

Biscuits and Gravy have always been a favorite in my house for breakfast!  However, since my husband had to go gluten-free and dairy-free we haven’t had them!  Over the holiday’s I made Scalloped Potatoes and Ham and I had to make a dairy-free sauce/gravy to go with it and I decided to give it a try as a Sausage Gravy.  I also figured why not make it 21 day fix approved so I could enjoy it too!  This turned out amazing! I made my husband Biscuits and Gravy earlier this week!  He was excited to be enjoying his favorite breakfast again! (I had made Gluten-free rolls the night before which I used for the biscuit.  I like the recipe on the Pamela’s Gluten Free Bread Flour mix.)

21 Day Fix Sausage Gravy serves about 8 (1/3 cup each)

1 pound of lean ground turkey breast

1 TBS sage

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp garlic

1/4 tsp fennel seed

1 TBS coconut oil

1/4 cup whole wheat flour (since we have to have gluten-free, I used my Pamela’s gluten-free flour)

2 cups unsweetened plain almond milk

black pepper, to taste

In a medium bowl mix the ground turkey with the sage, salt, garlic, and fennel seed.  Melt the coconut oil in a medium sauce pan over medium heat.  Once the coconut oil is melted, brown the ground turkey, using a spatula to break up the pieces.  Stir frequently so it doesn’t burn to the pan.  After the turkey is fully cooked, sprinkle with the flour and stir.  Pour the milk over the ground turkey/flour mixture. Bring to a slight boil then lower the heat to medium/low.  Continue to stir as it thickens.  As it cools it will thicken more as well. Season with pepper to taste.

21 day fix: 1/3 cup serving  1/2 red, 1/4 yellow, 1/3 tsp

 

 

Leave a Reply

