21 Day Fix Enchiladas

inshot_20160202_134440.jpg

We don’t eat enchiladas that often here…or at least I should say we didn’t in the past.  Since I started making my own sauce so I can control the amount of spice, my family enjoys them so much more!  I used corn tortillas for this only because we are a gluten-free family.  If you use flour tortillas you will need to adjust the serving size to reflect the yellow container amount for those following the 21 day fix. I had already used up my blue container for the day, so these are made without cheese.  Next time I will save my blue for some cheesy enchiladas! You can make these with either shredded chicken breast or lean grass-fed ground beef!  Try both!

21 Day Fix Enchiladas serves 8

1 1/2 pounds lean ground beef or shredded chicken breast (should equal 7 red containers)

2 cans of green chiles

16 corn tortillas or 8 flour tortillas (2 corn tortillas=1 yellow container)

1 batch of Homemade Enchilada Sauce

1 cup plain greek yogurt

shredded cheese, optional (be sure to measure and count as a blue container)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Spray a 9×13″ baking dish with cooking spray. Brown the ground beef in a sauce pan over medium heat.  Using a spatula to break it apart. Once the ground beef if fully cooked place in a medium mixing bowl.  When using chicken I like to use leftover chicken breast or I will boil frozen chicken breasts while I am doing other things!  Add the greek yogurt to the ground beef or shredded chicken.  Stir in the green chiles. I used my red container to measure the meat mixture.  I filled each corn tortilla with 1/2 the red container of the meat.  Roll up and place seam side down in the pan.  If you are using flour tortillas I am sure you could use the whole red container.  Pour the enchilada sauce over the tortillas.  Bake for about 30 minutes or until it is bubbly.  If using cheese you can sprinkle on after you pull them out of the oven.

21 day fix: per 2 corn tortilla enchiladas 1 yellow, 1 red, 1 tsp

Leave a Reply

