Homemade Granola Bars

inshot_20160217_190707.jpg

If your family is like mine, they LOVE granola bars!  However, I am not a fan of the price or some of the ingredients in the ones you find at the store.  Since I make my own granola, I figured I would attempt to make the family some granola bars.  This was my first attempt and I would say it was pretty successful.  I think next time I won’t boil the honey as long, maybe they will turn out to be more of a “chewy” granola bar then.  These have some crunch to them.  They are perfect for the big kids, but the little ones have a struggle eating them.  For variety try adding different nuts, seeds, raisins, cranberries…let me know what you tried!

Homemade Granola Bars makes 25 bars

1 batch of Coconut Chia Seed Granola

1 cup raw honey

6 Tbsp water

1/2 cup natural peanut butter, optional (or other nut butter)

1/2 cup chocolate chips, optional

Cook the Granola according the directions.  Once the granola is done, heat the honey and water in a medium saucepan over medium heat.  I used a candy thermometer to heat to 270 degrees.  (Next time I will try a lower temp. to see if I can create a “chewy” bar.) Once you reach 270 degrees turn off the heat and stir in peanut butter, if using.  Pour the honey mixture over the granola and stir.  It will seem a bit dry, but make sure it all gets covered well.  Line a 9X13 pan with parchment paper.  Pour the granola mixture into the pan.  Use the back of the spoon to press into the pan.  I sprinkled chocolate chips onto after I pressed them into the pan.  Use another piece of parchment paper on top of the bars to press the bars as compact as you can. (The parchment paper is to help since they are so hot.  And making sure they are compact will help them to stick together once they cool.) After they have cooled for about 45 minutes, lift the parchment paper out of the pan and cut the bars.  You want to cut them while they are still a little warm or else they will crumble when you try to cut them.  Once you have cut the bars, let them cool completely.  Store in an airtight container.

21 day fix: 1 bar, 1 yellow treat swap

Are you ready to learn more about the 21 day fix or to join my accountability group? Join Here! 

Leave a Reply

