Never Give Up

13557738_10153761611148927_1275746693628345856_n

Can you believe that it has been 15 months since I started this journey to getting healthy?  I had no idea how many lives I would touch when I started.  Has it been easy? Nope.  Have I struggled?  Yep!  Did I mess up with my eating?  You betcha!  But you know what is different this time?  I didn’t give up!

So many times people come to me and say they want to lose weight, fit back into their clothes, or just feel better and I ask them are they going to give it all they have.  Unfortunately too many people are seeking a quick fix.  In our world of instant gratification, they want results YESTERDAY.  Those other products may work at first, but you will not get the lasting results you are looking for.  You won’t be satisfied!  Stop looking for a quick solution to an issue that has taken years to get to where you are!

I have tried those “other” methods only to be disappointed or constantly forking over money for the latest ‘fad’ thing.  I am so happy that I am no longer in that vicious cycle!  I have learned to have a healthy relationship with food and my body!  It is a process, not an instant fix.

Food is amazing and what it can do for our bodies is remarkable.  But the key is to learn that food is to fuel you, to nourish you, to heal you.  NOT to comfort you! Food is one of the most abused “drug” out there.  The sad thing is that it affects so many people…men, women, kids… and we don’t think twice.  If you saw a woman drinking and driving with her children in the car, most likely you would report her.  However, when we see that same mom overindulging constantly in chips, sodas, fast-foods and feeding the same things to her children we don’t bat an eye.

Now I know what you are thinking…that is all she can afford to feed her kids.  It is frustrating that the junk foods are the ones that are on sale the most or that you can clip coupons for. As a mom of 5 myself, I have found that if you feed your family the right foods, you can actually keep them satisfied longer on that same $1 worth of food.  Eating foods that are packed with vitamins, minerals, protein, good fats are going to not only help keep you and your family healthy, but will keep them full longer.

I am very passionate about helping other women, other moms reach their health and fitness goals.  I am also very passionate about the childhood obesity rates in our country. When we were on vacation a week ago, I was saddened to see so many over weight children.  The parents think it is cute that they are “chubby” and continue to feed the fast food, chips, candy… I am not saying everyone or every child needs to be a certain size, but I do think we need to step back and take a serious look at what we have said is normal for ourselves and our children, in terms of eating and daily activity.

I am doing something I have never done before in a few weeks.  I will hosting a 21 Day Fit Family Test Group.  I want to get out children involved in eating healthy and getting in daily activity.  I will be sharing recipes that your children can help you prepare.  Ideas for fun family activities and more!

If you think this is something you would like to do, please email me at tonistoothoff@hotmail.com or contact me on facebook.  Click here to apply for the group!

Leave a Reply

