Fudgy Chocolate Zucchini Bread–Gluten Free

wpid-20150819_164420_richtonehdr.jpg

We didn’t plant a garden here this year.  It is very hard to get it to grow at the elevation, with sandy soil, and the constant hail storms along with the wind out here!  However, I do have a friend from church who has managed to grow a garden.  She has been selling zucchini bread since she has so many zucchini!  She was kind enough to sell me a few zucchini at a great price.  I figured I would try to create a gluten free 21 day fix approved bread for us!  (My son has to have gluten free and it would be torture to him if I didn’t make something he could eat!)

My recipe turned out pretty good.  I had some extra zucchini so I just added it to my mix, but I think I should have kept it out because the bread was very moist.  But if you are craving a yummy, fudgy chocolatey bread…..This is for you!

Fudgy Chocolate Zucchini Bread serves 20, 1 slice each Adapted from Beachbody Blog recipe

6 large egg white

1/4 cup melted coconut oil

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/3 cup sugar

2 tsp vanilla

2 1/2 cups oat flour (you can just grind rolled oats in the food processor)

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/3 cup cocoa powder

2 1/2 cups grated zucchini

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Prepare 2 loaf pans with nonstick spray. Combine egg whites, coconut oil, applesauce, sugar, and vanilla in a bowl. Set aside. Mix together the oat flour, baking powder, baking soda, and cocoa powder.  Add the flour mixture to the egg mixture.  Mix well.  Stir in zucchini.  Divide batter evenly between 2 pans.  Bake for 40-50 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Cool bread for 5 to 10 minutes in pans.  Remove from pans and cool completely on rack.  Slice each loaf of bread into 10 slices.

You can wrap and freeze leftovers for future meals/snacks if you have any left!

Enjoy!

If you are following the 21 day fix:  1 green, 1/2 yellow, 1 tsp

If you want to learn more about the 21 day fix email me at tonistoothoff@hotmail.com!

5 thoughts on “Fudgy Chocolate Zucchini Bread–Gluten Free

    • I just squeezed with my hand, but if you are using shredded zucchini you froze I would thaw & squeeze good. Even place between paper towels. It seems like every time I freeze it I get tons more moisture from it. Hope that helps!

      Like

  1. I just made this.. It didn’t rise much, or at all. What did I do wrong? It looks like I should have combined both into one loaf pan to make it equal what your picture looks like.

    Like

  2. Pingback: 21 Day Fix Gluten Free Recipes | My Crazy Good Life

Leave a comment