Healthy Zuppa Toscana Soup 21 Day Fix Approved

inshot_20160212_173408.jpg

When we lived in Alaska one of the highlights of visiting family in Washington was having a Ladies Lunch at Olive Garden.  (Alaska didn’t have any Olive Garden’s then, not sure if they have any yet.) When our trip was getting close I could just taste the warm, spicy Zuppa Toscana Soup with endless warm, garlic bread sticks!  Ok, I just made myself hungry for bread sticks now!  🙂

Traditionally this type of soup is made with cream and sausage, but since I am trying to be healthier not only for myself but for the whole family, I decided to try to revamp one of our favorite soups! I have to say I honestly don’t notice the difference in taste!  My twin daughters actually had 3 bowls tonight!  I am glad it makes a large pot of soup, so I can have some for lunch tomorrow!

Healthy Zuppa Toscana Soup serves 12- 1 cup servings

1 large onion, chopped

4 cloves garlic, diced

1 cup unsweetened plain almond milk

4 cups kale, chopped

32 oz. organic chicken stock (or vegetable broth)

1 lb Sweet Italian Turkey sausage (or spicy lean turkey sausage) cooked and crumbled

1 lb red potatoes, diced

5 cups of water

salt & pepper to taste

1-1 1/2 tsp fennel seeds (I love the flavor it adds)

Chop the kale (I used a 1/2 of a 1 lb bag that was already chopped).  In a skillet over medium to high heat add the sausage and fennel seeds, cook until browned.  Crumble and drain any grease. Add the onions and garlic to the sausage and cook until soft.  Place water, broth, potatoes and sausage mixture in a large pot.  Bring to a boil and cook until potatoes are soft.  Add the milk and kale.  Season with salt and pepper.

*You can make this is a Crock Pot as well.  When you get to the step to add the water, broth, potatoes, and sausage mixture to a large pot place in a crock pot instead and cook on low for 7-8 hours. In the last 30 minutes of cooking add the milk and kale.

**Optional: Sprinkle with some Parmesan cheese. (count as a blue container if you are following 21 day fix.)

21 day fix: 1 cup serving, 1/2 yellow, 1/2 red, 1/2 green

Are you ready to learn more about the 21 day fix or to join my accountability group? Join Here! 

Leave a comment